Bloggers: I beg a favour

If you have a blog with the facility to track visitors or commenters (Wordpress blogs are very good for this), would you be so kind as to let me know via email if anyone with the IP address 86.153.121.65 has come calling recently?

They left a not-very-nice comment here this morning and I’d be very keen to know who this person is, if at all possible.

Thanks in advance.

Update: Thanks to everyone who helped. I’ve forwarded the comment to BT’s Internet abuse team.

Update 19:30 BT have been in touch. They ‘have carried out an investigation into this and have taken action against our user to stop this happening again.’

You want to leave vile crap and revolting smears in the comments on someone’s blog? Take it to the online dirty protests where it’s tolerated and condoned like on ‘leading’ ‘bloggers’ Iain Dale’s or Guido Fawkes’ craphouses. Go and daub the walls there. It’s zero tolerance here.


Posted on April 17th, 2009 at 10:35am under Blog, bloggers and blogging

Related posts...
Guido Fawkes: guardian of political morality
An unholy alliance?
Remember, remember the 28th of March
   
Permalink
Trackback
Subscribe
Print


 
7 Comments

7 Comments

  1. BritSwedeGuy (36 comments.) on 17.04.2009 at 10:52 Permalink | Reply

    From WHOIS

    OrgName: RIPE Network Coordination Centre
    OrgID: RIPE
    Address: P.O. Box 10096
    City: Amsterdam
    StateProv:
    PostalCode: 1001EB
    Country: NL

    That gives you a rough idea, it’s hard to get much more than that easily.

  2. CP on 17.04.2009 at 10:58 Permalink | Reply

    86.153.121.65 GB United Kingdom H9 London London 51.5000 -0.1167 British Telecommunications

    Can BT help?

  3. nick on 17.04.2009 at 11:05 Permalink | Reply

    I have done some whois lookups as well. I have a feeling that it may be a BT Internet user, and as such, the IP addresses are assigned dynamically when the user connects. I’m not sure if it is possible to trace him on other forums, as he would obtain a different IP address every time he connects. Try contacting BT anyway on abuse AT btbroadband DOT com

    IP Address: 86.153.121.65
    Host: host86-153-121-65.range86-153.btcentralplus.com
    Location: United Kingdom
    City: London
    Organization: British Telecommunications
    ISP: British Telecommunications

  4. Daniel Hoffmann-Gill (228 comments.) on 17.04.2009 at 11:12 Permalink | Reply

    I’ve not seen that over at mine but I’ll keep an eye on me stats, my traffic has gone through the roof of late for seemingly no reason. I’ll let you know.

  5. Sim-O (92 comments.) on 17.04.2009 at 11:53 Permalink | Reply

    nothing, mate.

  6. Paulie (13 comments.) on 18.04.2009 at 14:49 Permalink | Reply

    I’m curious – did BT give you to believe that they were able to track down the actual user? A lot of the time, with broadband connections (which more people have every day) I *think* that the IP addresses are fixed instead of dynamic – have I got that right? (I shold know this, but do most ISPs assign fixed IPs to broadband users now?

    And what action do they take? Would you mind saying what the nature of the nastiness was (I’d understand if you didn’t want to) – but I’d be interested to know how far they will take their response – mainly because if you establish a precedent that you *can* deal with a problem, the next thing that happens is you get sued if you *don’t* – it’s the sort of thing that can have unintended consequences.

    On a lighter note, remember this one?
    http://www.pootergeek.com/2006/06/hello-loser/

    1. Justin on 19.04.2009 at 08:28 Permalink | Reply

      Well, BT’s system is pretty opaque. I sent the relevant extract from my server log, they identified the user and I got the message in return from BT that I pasted in this post. Just what action they take I don’t know…

      We will deal with the situation appropriately, but for legal reasons we cannot tell you what action we may take against an offender.

      I won’t got into detail about the comment other than to say it was an explicit and defamatory accusation about a third party. First I’ve ever had so I thought I’d try and set an example.

      I’m not sure about precedent. It all falls under UK libel law after all. Removing the comment would probably have been enough but I had a fair idea about where the commenter had come from, was feeling zero tolerant, and curious about how ISP abuse processes work.

Leave a comment




Line and paragraph breaks are automatic, your e-mail address is never displayed, HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

RSS feed for comments on this post.

The URL to TrackBack this entry is: http://www.chickyog.net/2009/04/17/bloggers-i-beg-a-favour/trackback/